Testimonials

We receive many letters from the families we've served, thanking us for our caring ways during their time of loss. Their words warm our hearts, and speak to you of our professionalism, compassion, and the true value of the services we provide.

I cannot express enough gratitude for the exceptional service provided by Hungerford and Clark Funeral Home during my brother's wake and funeral. Lincoln, in particular, was a beacon of support and efficiency during such a challenging time for my family and me. His dedication and willingness to go the extra mile made all the difference. As a resident of Freeport, I am delighted we chose this funeral home. I wholeheartedly recommend their services to others. Thank you, Lincoln, for your patience, thoroughness, and compassion. Your efforts will forever be remembered and appreciated

5 stars
Karina March 24, 2024

I’ve experienced the lost of my mother recently and her funeral arrangements were held at Hungerford and Clark Funeral Home and without any regret it was the best decision my family and I could’ve made. The entire staff will go above and beyond. During a time that emotions and decisions are made the funeral home will make anything that is in their power to make the whole process feel at ease during a difficult time. From the awakening to the burial everything was done exactly how one would expect especially after losing a loved one. Thank you Hungerford and Clark for being an exceptional funeral home and will recommend to anyone who is need of your services!

5 stars
Kaitleen February 17, 2024

The entire staff at Hungerford and Clark went above and beyond and took away any worries that our family had during this extremely difficult time. We didn’t have to think or worry about anything- they took care of everything. Thank you!

5 stars
Kathleen November 14, 2023

On behalf of the Archibald family, we want to thank Hungerford and Clark Funeral Home for the exceptional customer service and care that they showed to us when our mother Jean passed away. Words can't express the gratitude that we have for this team, specifically Sapphire and Miguel. This was such a painful time for our family and this team eased the pain and we knew that our mother was in good hands. Thank you Sapphire and Miguel - we will never forget the love and care shown to our family.

5 stars
Archibald Family August 27, 2023

I've experienced the loss of my father, and most recently, my mother. Both services held at Hungerford and Clark Funeral Home. I will say that the team here goes above and beyond. They understand the pain you, the family, and friends are going through. They handle everything to lighten the burden off your shoulders. From selecting the casket to the fine touches in Thank You Cards. The team here is professional, respectful, and outgoing. They are tentative to all your needs. Mike coordinated the entire service, it was flawless, and I'm sure my mom and dad would've been pleased with their services. Our hearse driver, Lincoln deserves mention here as he was very caring, comforting, and understanding. Overall Great and comforting experience here for two sad times in my life... Hungerford & Clark should open a catering hall, so I can Rave about their services for happy moments. They'd be proficient with their services and venues. Thank you All at Hungerford & Clark!

5 stars
Shaun M. August 04, 2023

There's nothing that truly prepares you for the death of a loved one, when my father was placed on hospice it was the most terrifying moment of my life because I knew that the next step would be his funeral. I had never planned a funeral before, I just knew that there was a wake, then a funeral and then a repass, but I had no idea all the details that went into planning one. Luckily for me and my family, Hungerford & Clark walked us through each step with such care and respect. Michael met with my family multiple times, to help plan and answer questions, never did we feel like we were being rushed or just brushed over. Michael took the time to break down the costs of what goes into burying someone and also called the cemetery to make sure the numbers were as accurate as possible. My father was a nature photographer by hobby, and they even allowed us to use one of his pictures for the prayer card. Everything for the wake and funeral was handled so professionally and with such great care. They collected all the flower cards and the sign in book for us, we didn't have to worry about anything. They truly made the process very smooth. The funeral home itself is clean, updated, and the room where we had the wake was very comfortable. Sapphire was the manager the day of my dad's funeral, and she made sure that we were running on time, and that everything ran smoothly. My dad was truly an amazing person, and cancer took him from us way too early in life. Hungerford and Clark Funeral Home helped us give him the sendoff that he deserved, one that I can look back on and be proud of. Thank you, Michael, Sapphire, and the entire time that helped us, your kindness and patience will forever be remembered and appreciated.

5 stars
Farrah A. July 26, 2023

The place is very well kept, super clean and organized. ALL of the staff members are fantastic and extremely professional. They accommodated all of my family’s requests.

5 stars
Awilda July 07, 2023

I am truly grateful for the funeral services Hungerford and Clark Funeral Home provided to my family after my dad's recent passing. Lincoln was incredibly caring, understanding, knowledgeable and he went out of his way to make the whole process as smooth as possible. Their facilities is top-notch, and the attention to detail in every aspect of the service was apparent. I appreciated their personalized approach, and the fact that the staff took the time to get to know my family and understand our needs. I would highly recommend this funeral home to anyone in need of their services, and I am super confident that they will provide the same high level of care and professionalism my family received. Thank you!!!

5 stars
Steve Ramirez July 07, 2023

Lincoln and the entire team at Hungerford and Clark Funeral Home were truly a blessing during a difficult time. They went above and beyond to ensure that the funeral arrangements for our father were handled beautifully. Their professionalism, sympathy, caring nature, and patience made us feel at peace and supported every step of the way. Whenever we had a question or concern, they were always two steps ahead and had already taken care of it. If you're in need of funeral arrangements, you cannot be in better hands than with Hungerford & Clark Funeral Home. They truly are the best, and we highly recommend their services to anyone in need.

5 stars
EJ Rend February 15, 2023

Would certainly recommend. The building itself is a beautiful old home which has been carefully maintained and is tastefully furnished and decorated. They helped us with every step of arrangements for our loved one, and they were supportive and caring without being cloying. They were upfront and candid about the costs, spelling everything out, and explaining the details, and they did not over-sell us on anything. In particular, Lincoln was a pleasure to work with.

5 stars
Dylan Masters September 13, 2022

The owners were incredible! Carried out my mother-in-laws wishes to the letter. They took care of every detail with kindness and dignity. We were relieved and appropriately taken care of. They could not have made things less stressful. Thank you for your services.

5 stars
Merri Rothman Parola July 14, 2022

From the moment that we first contacted Hungerford and Clark, we were told that our Father's wake and funeral would be handled with the dignity that he (or any person) deserves. In a time when you are overwhelmed with emotions and questions, Michael was a calming presence assuring us that no detail would be left unattended. We had 3 busy days including the funeral, but at no time were we rushed, challenged, or made to feel like anything but Michael's priority. He co-ordinated masterfully with the NCPD to be sure that my father's 31 years of service on the force was on display at all times. I want to extend my family's sincere thanks for making a very difficult time one that we can look back on with pride. God Bless!

5 stars
Tom Goodwin May 12, 2022

My beloved Aunt Maria Teresa passed away recently and her wake was held at Hungerford and Clark Funeral Home. During such a difficult time for the family, my cousins were fortunate enough to have picked the services of Hungerford and Clark. They were guided and reassured every step of the way. Prior to the service, all questions were answered quickly and clearly. At the service, as soon as we inquired about getting a microphone for the eulogy, they were quick to provide us with one and a stand. The funeral home itself is great and is conveniently located right across from the RC church of Freeport. Their services are highly recommended.

5 stars
Jaime F. November 09, 2022

It was a pleasure working with you on behalf of my brother in law Hugh Stephens. Your staff was very professional and helpful. They went above and beyond to create a smooth transition and for this we are grateful. The 🇯🇲 really showed how empathetic you were and this was the icing on the cake. Thanks a million. We will continue to support you. Keep up the good work.

5 stars
Claudette Reid December 13, 2022

Sadly, we lost our mother suddenly due to natural causes and our families are all out of town. I called Hungerford and Clark and they immediately took care of everything. They got to the apartment within 30 minutes of the call. They are efficient and they managed everything with grace and patience. We had the service at the funeral home 7 days later. I highly recommend working with Hungerford & Clark as they will help you every step of the way.

5 stars
Karen Baumberger November 02, 2022

Lincoln, Sapphire, Michael, and all the staff made me feel in peace and helped me to make all the funeral arrangements for my mom beautifully! Their professionalism, sympathy, caring, and beautiful place helped me to say goodbye to my mom like a queen! I lost my husband 4 years ago and they helped me to say goodbye to him like a king as well. Believe me, you cannot be in better hands for all funeral arrangements than in Hungerford & Clark’s. They are the best!!

5 stars
Lisset January 20, 2023

There are no words to express the gratitude for the exceptional service Hungerford and Clark has provided us as we laid to rest our beloved mother and grandmother M. Coto. Michael Carpinone and Lincoln were very supportive and knowledgeable in every step of the funeral planning leading up to the wake and the mass. Their professionalism, empathy and patience went above and beyond! It is great to see Hungerford and Clark continue to be a staple in the Village of Freeport under new ownership.

5 stars
The Coto Family June 08, 2022

In early January I knew my mother’s last days were upon her . I called and spoke to Michael . He was very helpful in suggesting I get her on hospice as soon as possible. That was absolutely the right move , since she only lived two days after she was signed up . Having lived in Freeport since 1949, 74 years , my entire family , grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins, sisters, and my Father, had all been buried from Hungerford and Clark , and Our Holy Redeemer. We had always been supported by wonderful staff . When it was time to make arrangements for my Mother , Michael handled everything with great kindness that we had always been used to . My mother looked so beautiful and peaceful at the wake . I truly appreciate everything Michael did . I highly recommend Hungerford and Clark .

5 stars
Peggy March 07, 2024

The entire staff at Hungerford and Clark Funeral Home was nothing short of spectacular. All of them are the utmost professionals clearly committed to helping families during one of the most difficult times in their lives. I want to particularly shout out Miguel, Michael, Lincoln, and Sapphire. They paid close attention to our needs and made everything smooth and seamless. It allowed me and my family to focus on our grief and in providing my mother, Evangelina, the sendoff she deserved.

5 stars
Douglas M. February 06, 2024

During the most difficult time in our lives, Hungerford and Clark was there for us 100%. Miguel, our funeral director, was the absolute best. So much compassion and empathy for me and my family. Thank you for the best service.

5 stars
Alva November 14, 2023

Mike was amazing compassionate and the entire staff were extremely helpful in our time of need. They help arrange for everything from flowers to insurance. Everything was done with dignity and understanding. Even having her country’s birth flag at the ceremony. Highly recommend them.

5 stars
Melissa August 24, 2023

They were so kind and compassionate during this difficult time of losing our mom. They did a wonderful job with all the details we asked for. Thank you Michael and Lincoln.

5 stars
Mario & Grace July 26, 2023

Kind, patient and very helpful with my dad's wake. Welcome to Freeport to the new owners (Michael and his dad!).

5 stars
Romina July 07, 2023

My family considers Hungerford and Clark to be our family’s funeral home. A beautifully maintained funeral parlor provided the degree of dignity and comfort we sought for family and friends. Miguel and staff were respectful and helpful working to meet the needs of our family.

5 stars
Robert Renken July 07, 2023

Soy Sandra Martínez hija de Alicia Arévalo Rendón con Lisset mi hermana hemos compartido uno de los momentos más dolorosos de nuestra vida. Pero sobrellevar éste momento con cada uno de los detalles que se tuvieron ,ha sido importante . Definitivamente con propiedad les puedo asegurar que ningún dinero del mundo paga el acompañamiento de cada uno de ustedes, disculpen si no menciono sus nombres. Sólo decirles muchas por tanto detalle.

5 stars
Sandra Martinez February 13, 2022

So kind and caring. Easy to talk to and work with Extremely efficient , but very friendly. They helped give the family tremendous relief 🙏

5 stars
Matty Eisen February 25, 2022

Hungerford and Clark did my Grandma's service today 6/1/22 and she looked beautiful. Lincoln and Staff gave us an amazing service treated my family with such kindness and compassion.

5 stars
Danielle M. August 17, 2022

Recently hosted a funeral at Hungerford and Clark with the amazing support and guidance of Lincoln and Michael. They both were great, communicative, understanding, supportive, sympathetic and overall professional. If you want to ensure that the last few moments you and family spend with a loved one who's passed are done the right way, trust the staff at Hungerfod & Clark to take care of you.

5 stars
Alicia Robinson June 06, 2022

From the moment we called Hungerford and Clark, everything was handled with genuine empathy and dignity. We were guided every step of the way and when we couldn’t drop something off due to high stress, Lincoln would come to pick up the papers for us. I couldn’t be happier with their services for my father. A truly professional and caring funeral home. Michael and Lincoln were there for every step of the way. Thank you Hungerford & Clark.

5 stars
Rocio Solorzano May 10, 2023

My family and I have used Hungerford since 2019. Most recently at the end of last year which is when we discovered that it was under new ownership with the Carpinone family. In the midst of yet another loss, it was such a comfort to be treated with grace, patience, understanding and kindness by Michael, his family and associates from the first phone call until the burial. We're so grateful and highly recommend them for their services and compassion.

5 stars
Erica J. February 10, 2023

They handled everything with such kindness. The facility is beautiful, spacious, clean and updated, things you don’t think about during situations like this but now I think back and It was very nice and not a scary place at all. We dealt with Michael and Lincoln and I would highly recommend Hungerford and Clark.

5 stars
Rocio Borruso December 15, 2022

They help you through the entire process of loss, mourning and most important… celebrating your loved ones life with the dignity that they deserve. Michael and Lincoln thank you for everything, your team showed respect and professionalism from the beginning to the end. If you lose someone you love, I would recommend Hungerford & Clark funeral home, They were amazing.

5 stars
Cindy A. December 15, 2022

Death’s grief is inevitable but having the right people to support and guide you through this difficult time is so very important. Hungerford and Clark was my knight in shining armor when our dearly beloved aunt passed. From the moment I called the funeral home to the day of internment, we were treated with courtesy and professionalism. Never once did we have to ask a question. Your inestimable knowledge and deep empathy buoyed me through every aspect of life’s finality. In fact, I shall forever consider you family uniquely bonded through this shared experience, and I am eternally grateful for your impeccable service.

5 stars
Sandra Roberts January 04, 2023

We have had several family members interred with Hungerford and Clark - and let me tell you- it doesn't get any better than them. They couldn't be more empathetic and caring and knowledgable about everything having to do with my sister's, and my Mother's situation. We first met him when my brother-in-law passed away unexpectedly. Kevin is extremely knowledgeable about what needs to be done and really, really tries to do all he can to ease your concerns and burdens. A true and complete professional with a heart of gold. I can't say enough good things about him - he has truly become a most beloved family member.

5 stars
Linda M.